GPS Committees and Their Chairs

Interested in joining a committee? Email the committee chair(s) (listed below) or the E-board ( for more information! Committee meetings will also be listed on the Google Calendar.

Social Committee – plans and organizes a variety of events that foster friendships and community between graduate students across all subfields of physics.

2019-2020 Social Committee Chair(s): Lauren Callahan (, Stan Letchev (

Professional Development Committee – plans and organizes a variety of events and provides resources that help graduate students develop their professional skills, including the GPS Annual Conference.

2019-2020 Prof. Dev. Committee Chair(s): Patrick Fasano (

Outreach Committee – works closely with JINA-CEE and the department to plan and organize outreach events in the local community.

2019-2020 Outreach Committee Chair(s): Chevelle Boomershine (, Scott Carmichael (

International Committee – fosters a community and provides resources to help international students adjust to living in the United States. Also works closely with Social Committee to plan and organize cultural celebrations.

2019-2020 International Committee Chair(s): TBD

Fundraising Committee – plans and organizes various events to raise funds for GPS, including Notre Dame Day.

2019-2020 Fundraising Committee Chair(s): TBD

Public Relations Committee – promotes GPS and its events to the department through email, flyers, social media, etc.

2019-2020 Public Relations Committee Chair(s): Alex Thomas (

If you’re interested in being a part of any committee or are interested in chairing a committee, email or fill out the GPS Involvement Survey.

2018-2019 Committee Chairs

Outreach (EXP@ND): Adam Clark, Austin Nelson

Social: Patricia Huestis, Lauren Callahan


2017-2018 Committee Chairs

Outreach (EXP@ND): Austin Nelson

International Committee: Pitambar Sapkota

Social: Matthew Hall

Professional Development: Laura Collins and Sabrina Strauss

Fundraising: Anthony Ruth

Public Relations: Benjamin Rose


2016-2017 Committee Chairs

Outreach (EXP@ND): Craig Reingold, Austin Nelson, and Adam Clark

Social: Elizabeth DeWaard and Patricia Huestis

Fundraising: Allan Leishman


2015-2016 Committee Chairs

Outreach (EXP@ND): Erica Gonzales and Bryce Frentz

Social: Michael Skulski

Professional Development: Mallory Smith and Matthew Hall

Fundraising: Elizabeth (De Waard) Louden

Public Relations: Laura Collins


2014-2015 Committee Chairs

Outreach: Erica Gonzales

Social: Michael Skulski

Professional Development: Bryant Vande Kolk

Conference: Mallory Smith

Public Relations: Karen (Chamberlin) Ostdiek