Committees

GPAS Committees and their Chairs

Interested in joining a committee? Email the committee chair(s) (listed below) or the E-board (gps@nd.edu) for more information! Committee meetings will also be listed on the Google Calendar.

Social Committee – plans and organizes a variety of events that foster friendships and community between graduate students across all subfields of physics.

2023-2024 Social Committee Chair(s): Jonathan Cabrera Garcia (jcabrer2@nd.edu)

Professional Development Committee – plans and organizes a variety of events and provides resources that help graduate students develop their professional skills, including the GPAS Annual Conference.

2023-2024 Prof. Dev. Committee Chair(s): Nileema Sharma (nsharma@nd.edu)

Outreach Committee – works closely with JINA-CEE and the department to plan and organize outreach events in the local community.

2023-2024 Outreach Committee Chair(s): Fabio Rivero (frivero@nd.edu)

International Committee – fosters a community and provides resources to help international students adjust to living in the United States. Also works closely with Social Committee to plan and organize cultural celebrations.

2023-2024 International Committee Chair(s):  Jihye Hong (jhong5@nd.edu) and Saloni Deepak (sdeepak@nd.edu)

Public Relations Committee – plans and organizes various events to raise funds for GPAS, including Notre Dame Day. Promotes GPAS and its events to the department through email, flyers, social media, etc.

2023-2024 PR + Fundraising Committee Chair(s): David Shaw (dshaw2@nd.edu)

Gender & Inclusivity Committee – promotes gender diversity and inclusivity in the department

2023-2024 Gender & Inclusivity Committee Chair(s): Grace Longbons (glongbon@nd.edu) & Jes Koros (jkoros@nd.edu)

Fundraising – raises funds to aid in the growth of GPAS programming.

2023-2024 Fundraising Lead: Sam Porter (wporter@nd.edu)

If you’re interested in being a part of any committee or are interested in chairing a committee, email gps@nd.edu or fill out the GPAS Involvement Survey.

 

Past committee chairs can be found here.